Mayor Liz Campbell

From the Mayor's desk
Week commencing 19 August 2019Mayor Liz Campbell

Bush fire season has commenced

Last Monday, I attended a meeting at the Rural Fire Service Headquarters in West Kempsey. I was briefed on the number of fires burning throughout the Macleay Valley and how the extreme weather system was impacting them. The top priority is to keep the community safe and to ensure the surrounding areas of the fires are blocked off from the public. It was necessary, due to the extreme winds, that Kempsey be declared a Section 44 under the Rural Fires Act. This made it possible to bring in extra resources from outside the area to assist in containing the fires.

Helicopters have been stationed at Kempsey Airport and have been working collaboratively with the NSW Rural Fire Service and NSW Police to waterbomb the fires.

On behalf of the Macleay Valley, thank you to all the firefighters and police for keeping the community safe and for doing a magnificent job. The abnormal amount of fires that have been burning could have been catastrophic without your heroic efforts.

NSW Police Force public meeting

The NSW Police Force has engaged Strike Force Tronto to conduct an intensive investigation into arson in Kempsey.

A Community Arson Meeting, facilitated by the NSW Police Force, will be held at the Kempsey Shire Council Chambers on Tuesday 20 August 2019 at 5:30pm.

Please RSVP to the Crime Prevention Officer, Senior Constable Steve Cherry on 02 6583 0172

Reading is My Secret Power - Children’s Book Week

The ability to read and write provides children with the opportunity to open their minds and create magical stories.

Kempsey Shire Library is celebrating Children’s Book Week by hosting author Melaina Faranda who has published over 50 young adult and children’s books. Melaina will be visiting our local schools to provide some inspiring workshops for students.

Every year I look forward to seeing local students express themselves by dressing as their favourite book characters throughout the week.

RFS - Eungai Brigade mop up at Verges Creek fireLocal Rural Fire Service crews involved in a recent fire