Australia Day 2018 award nominations open

Media release - 12 October 2017

Nominations for the Kempsey Shire Council 2018 Australia Day Awards are now open.

Kempsey Shire Mayor, Liz Campbell, said each year Council recognises local residents for their outstanding contributions to our community.

“It is that time of the year, where we are asking members of the community to nominate the next Kempsey Shire Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Community Group of the Year and Volunteer of the Year,” Cr Campbell said.

“We all know someone who makes our community a better place – perhaps by the work they do, the encouragement they bring or their vision and passion. These awards provide the opportunity to celebrate that contribution.”

Last year, Council received a record number of nominations and hopes that this year we take the opportunity to recognise many of our worthy locals.

The 2018 Australia Day Awards will be presented at the annual Australia Day Awards Ceremony at the Slim Dusty Centre on Australia Day eve, Thursday, 25 January 2018.

Nominations for the 2018 Awards close at 4:30pm on Friday, 24 November.

Nomination forms can be obtained and lodged online at

Categories are:

  • Citizen of the Year (the person must be 27 years old on 26 January 2018)
  • Young Citizen of the Year (nominee must be over 12 years of age and under 26 years of age on 26 January 2018)
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Community Group of the Year
The 2017 Australia Day Awards winnersThe 2017 winners were: Young Citizen of the Year Drew Walsh; Citizen of the Year Sonya Murphy; and Volunteer of the Year Frank Oakes